Notification

Do not share any private or confidential personal or business-related information in this public forum.

About automated calls and texts from Google to your business

Google might occasionally use automated calls or texts to contact the phone number on your Business Profile. We do this to confirm your business details are up-to-date or to assist customers with inquiries. Keeping your information accurate and responding to these requests can encourage customers to visit your business and buy your products and services.

Important: Google will never ask for payment, credit card information, or account passwords. If a caller asks for money to keep your business on Google, it is not a call from Google. If you receive a suspicious call or text, do not respond, click any links, or provide any information:

About automated calls and texts to confirm business info

You might get an automated call, text, or WhatsApp message from Google to confirm details about your business, like your operating hours or if certain services are available. This is a standard process to help customers find you on Google and does not affect your account standing.

Any information you provide, including photos and posts, will be added to your Business Profile on your behalf, subject to our content policies. You can edit or remove these updates at any time by visiting your Business Profile:

Any updates made to your Business Profile on Google Search and Maps as a result of these calls are reviewed and marked as “Pending.” The review might take up to 5 business days.

About automated calls on behalf of customers

Important: These calls are monitored and recorded for quality assurance.

When customers use Google Search or Maps to connect with your business for various requests, Google might contact your business on their behalf through an automated phone call to complete the request. Businesses and customers can use this feature at no charge.

Customer requests can include:

  • Booking appointments: After customers provide appointment details, like preferred time, service type, and party size, Google calls your business to book the appointment.
    • If your business works with online booking providers, Google may book through the partner or by calling your business directly.
  • Checking restaurant wait times: Customers can ask Google to find out the current wait times for your restaurant.
  • Confirming price and availability of products and services: Customers can ask Google to confirm the pricing and availability of in-store products and services from nearby local businesses. To fulfill these requests, Google may call your business to confirm the details. If you share this info with Google, the customer receives an email or SMS text that includes your business's product details or service quote.

Feature availability and frequency of automated calls

Appointment bookings, checking restaurant wait times, and confirming product and service details with Google automated calls are currently available only in select regions and languages and may not be available for all users. In the US, the feature is available in all states except Indiana, Louisiana, Minnesota, Montana, and Nebraska.

Google is committed to minimizing disruption to your business. When Google calls for these purposes, it limits the number of calls for the same info and avoids calling during late night or early morning hours. Google will only call you when:

  • A customer wants to book an appointment.
  • A customer wants to check the restaurant wait time.
  • A customer wants to confirm the price and availability of your products or services.
  • It needs to check your business hours.
  • It needs to check the status of in-demand inventory.

Understand how Google can post updates on your behalf

Important: Google’s posts on your behalf are available only to businesses with a verified Business Profile. You can opt out of this option at any time.

To save businesses time and effort updating their info, Google might post an update to your Business Profile on your behalf. The updates are based on the info you provide through automated phone calls, texts, or WhatsApp messages. Whenever Google uses info from your conversation to post on your behalf, you receive an email notification of the update. You can then review or remove that post. Learn how to edit a post.

How to opt out of automated calls and texts

Important: To report a problem with automated calls and texts, fill out this form.

To help keep business info up-to-date, Google offers this feature at no charge. Learn how Google manages any personal information it collects.

If you don’t want your business to receive automated calls or texts from Google, you can tell us over the phone or change your Business Profile settings. Learn how to manage advanced profile settings.

Tell us over the phone

When you get a phone call from Google, you can tell us that you don't want to receive any more calls. For example, you can say:

  • "Please remove my business from your list."
  • "Please stop calling my business."
Change your Business Profile settings
  1. Go to your Business Profile.
  2. Select More and then Business Profile settings and then Advanced settings.
  3. Under “Google automated calls and text messages,” you can turn these features on or off:
    • Bookings and inquiries from customers
    • Keep your profile up to date
    • Post to your profile on your behalf

Important: After opting out, you may still occasionally get manual calls from Google to confirm your business information. Learn how to protect against fraudulent calls.

Opt out and delete text messages

You can use these responses to manage messaging in your preferred language:

  • To opt out of text or WhatsApp messages, reply with the corresponding STOP command.
  • To delete all messages exchanged with this number, send the corresponding DELETE command.

Language

Opt out of messages

Delete all messages exchanged

English

STOP

DELETE

German

STOPP

LÖSCHEN

Hindi

रोकें

मिटाना

Indonesian

BERHENTI

HAPUS

Marathi

थांबवा

हटवा

Portuguese

PARE

DELETAR

Spanish

CANCELAR

BORRAR

Opt out of calls to map your phone tree
If Google called your business to map out your phone tree, you can opt out of these calls in the future. Call +1-650-206-5555 and leave a voicemail with your business name and phone number, and tell us that you want to opt out of future calls to map the phone tree for your business.

Related resources

Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
13708944032949920434
true
Search Help Center
false
true
true
true
true
true
99729
false
false
false
false
false
false