Notification

Passkeys are the simplest and most secure way to sign in to your account. To sign in with just your fingerprint, face scan, or screen lock, create a passkey.

Use Transcripts with Google Meet

Important:

  • You can only use the Transcripts feature on a computer, laptop, or Android device.
  • Meeting transcripts are on by default for all Workspace editions except Google Workspace for Education with a student license, where meeting transcripts are off by default. Learn more about Transcripts settings.

You can record meeting transcripts only if there's enough space in both:

  • Your Workspace organization's Google Drive
  • The meeting host's Drive
Learn which Google Workspace editions have Transcripts
  • Business Standard
  • Business Plus
  • Enterprise Starter
  • Enterprise Standard
  • Enterprise Plus
  • Teaching and Learning Upgrade
  • Education Plus
  • Workspace Individual
Learn about supported languages

Meeting transcripts are available in:

  • English
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish

You can get an automated transcript of your meeting.

Turn Transcripts in Google Meet on or off

Important:

  • Only the spoken words in a meeting are included in the transcripts.
  • To get a transcript of chat messages, record your video meeting.

If "Host management" is off, anyone from the host’s domain can turn on Transcripts. If "Host management" is on, only the host and co-hosts can turn on Transcripts.

To start Transcripts:

  1. On your computer, join or start a meeting in Google Meet.
  2. At the bottom right, click Meeting tools and then Transcribe and then Start transcription.
  3. In the pop-up screen, click Start.
    • When meeting transcripts are on, at the top right, a Transcripts icon displays for everyone in the meeting.

To stop Transcripts:

  1. At the bottom right, click Meeting tools and then Transcribing and then Stop transcription.
    • Or, you can click Stop transcribing .
  2. In the pop-up screen, click Stop.

Where Transcripts are saved:

  • Meeting transcripts are saved in the meeting organizer's Google Drive in the "Google Meet" folder. Within this folder, sub-folders are created for each meeting, containing the meeting transcripts.
  • Starting July 2026, your existing "Meet Recordings" folder (which contains your previous meeting transcripts) will be automatically renamed to "Legacy Meet Recordings." This folder will be moved inside the new "Google Meet" folder. Your old transcripts will continue to be available, and new transcripts will be saved in the new meeting-specific sub-folders.

Tips:

  • When all participants leave the meeting, Transcripts stop automatically.
  • You can't pause Transcripts, but you can stop one meeting transcript and start a new one in the same meeting.
  • You get a separate transcript file each time you start Transcripts.
Enable transcription to start automatically

Important:

  • Even if these features are enabled, they won’t start until the host or co-host joins the meeting on the web.
  • Notes and recordings are automatically shared with the hosts and co-hosts.

Hosts can enable certain features to start automatically when a meeting begins, like Record the meeting, Transcribe the meeting, and "take notes for me."

  1. When creating a meeting, click Video call options and then Meeting records.
  2. Select Transcribe the meeting.

Tip: Participants who join a meeting where the host has enabled these features get an on-screen warning message.

Provide consent for meeting features

Your administrator may require all participants to provide explicit consent before the use of certain meeting features like:

  • “take notes for me”
  • Record
  • Transcribe

This setting is off by default, and your administrator can choose to turn it on.

  • To start a feature and give consent, click Start.
  • To join a meeting with an active feature, click Join.
  • To stay in a meeting after a feature is turned on, click Continue.
    • If you want to exit the meeting, click Leave.

Tip: If the administrator has enabled “Quick Stop” and host controls are off, to end the capture for all participants, an internal user can click Stop.

Find a transcript

After your meeting ends, an automated email with a link to the meeting transcript is sent to:

  • The host
  • Any co-hosts
  • The person who turned on Transcripts

Tip: Transcripts of longer meetings take longer to process. Please allow time for your automated email to arrive.

The transcript is also attached to the meeting's Google Calendar event.

  • All invitees in the host's organization can open the attachment.
  • If there are more than 200 invitees in the host's organization, the transcript is only available to the host, co-hosts, and the person who turned on Transcripts in the meeting.

Related resources

Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
15677955078647286506
true
Search Help Center
false
true
true
true
true
true
713370
false
false
false
false
false