Go to this video with audio descriptions: Back up data on a Pixel phone
Automatically back up your device
Check which photos, data & settings you backed upYou can check what data and which apps are included in your backup.
- Open your device's Settings app.
- Tap Google services
Backup.
- Under “Backup details,” review what data is backed up on your device.
- Go to Google Drive.
- On the left, click Storage.
- Click Backups next to the
icon.
- You'll find a list of backups from devices and when it's last modified.
- Open your device's Settings app.
- Tap System
Backup.
- Tap Account storage.
- Tap the Google Account you want to use for backups. If the account you want to use isn't there, tap Add account.
Back up your Timeline data
Important: You have to separately opt-in to turn on Timeline backups on each device. It can take a few days for changes in your Timeline to reflect in a backup.
You can automatically back up your Timeline if you need to switch devices. When you back up your Timeline data, it saves an encrypted copy of your data on Google’s servers.
Turn on backup on your deviceImportant: To turn on Timeline backups, first turn off auto-delete.
- On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app
.
- Tap your profile picture or initial
Your Timeline
.
- At the top right, tap the cloud
.
- On the Backup screen, turn on Backup.
- Tap Turn on.
Turn off auto-delete
- On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app
.
- Tap your profile picture or initial
Your Timeline
.
- At the top right, tap More
Location & privacy settings.
- Under "Location settings," tap Auto-delete Timeline
Don’t auto-delete activity.
Important: Turning off and deleting backups does not delete the Timeline data saved on any of your devices. You can turn backups on again at any time.
- On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app
.
- Tap your profile picture or initial
Your Timeline
.
- At the top right, tap Backup
.
- From the “Your backups” section, select a device.
- Tap More
Delete.
- Tap Turn off & delete.
Important: Turning off and deleting backups does not delete the Timeline data saved on any of your devices. You can turn backups on again at any time.
- Go to My Google Activity.
- Under “Backup (On),” next to “Backing up data from # devices,” select Menu
.
- Tap Turn off and Delete Backups.
- Tap Turn off & delete.
Import your Timeline data from a backup
To move an existing backup to a different device or import your Timeline on a new device, you can import your Timeline data from a backup:
- On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app
.
- Tap your profile picture or initial
Your Timeline
.
- At the top right, tap the cloud
.
- From the “Your backups” section, select a device.
- Tap More
Import.
- On the “Import Timeline from backup” screen, tap Import.
Import Timeline data when your encrypted data is locked
If you get a message that says “your encrypted data is locked on this device,” find the device that was originally used to encrypt your backups.
- If you still have access to the device: Find or restore your Timeline backups.
- On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app
.
- Tap your profile picture or initial
Your Timeline
.
- At the top right, tap Backup
.
- When prompted, re-enter your password.
- On your new device, you can now find or restore your backups.
Tip: If you see a backup alert on another device, tap Fix now and enter your password when prompted.
- On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Maps app
- If you do not have access to the original device: Turn off Timeline backups and delete all existing backups.
- Your existing Timeline backups will be permanently deleted. However, you can now create new backups for each of your devices.
- Learn how to turn on backups on your device.
Export your Timeline data
- On your Android phone or tablet, open the Settings app
.
- Tap Location
Location services
Timeline.
- Under “Timeline,” tap Export Timeline data.
- Tap Continue.
- Select your preferred storage location.
- Tap Save.
- After the export completes, a popup notification shows "Export complete."
Erase after backing up
Transfer data from a backup
You can use a backup to transfer data if you have a backup of a previous device and no longer have the device, or don’t want to use it to directly transfer to your new Pixel.
Copy data from your cloud backup
Step 1: Sign in to your Google Account
- On the "Set up Using Another Device" screen, tap Skip.
- Connect to a Wi-Fi network.
- Sign in to your Google Account.
- Follow the on-screen instructions.
- Make sure to agree to Terms of Service.
- If you've inserted a physical sim, you’ll automatically connect to a mobile network. If not, you’ll have the option to add an e-sim or skip.
Step 2: Set up security features for your device
- Set up a pin.
- Set up Fingerprint Unlock.
- Set up Face Unlock.
Step 3: Restore your data
- When asked to "Restore data from an old device," tap the device you want to restore your data from.
- On the "Confirm your old Pixel screen lock” screen, tap Next.
- Choose what data you want to copy.
- Tap Restore.
Important: You can only restore data from one previous device. If you want to restore from a different device, first reset your Pixel phone.
- Open your device’s Settings app.
- Tap Accounts & backup
Android Switch
Start.
- If you used another device to transfer data, scan the QR code through the old device.
- If you didn’t use another device to transfer data, you can choose a device to copy data from.
- Choose the data you want to transfer over.
- Tap Copy.
- If errors occur during data transfer, try again to retrieve missing data types. Learn what does and doesn’t transfer during post-setup data transfer.
- If you haven't set up your backup, learn how to back up data on your Pixel phone.
Back up your previously restored data
- Set up a new device.
- Add additional data from your back up at any time from Settings.